Research domain and projects

Implementation Science in Health Care

Lauren Clack’s research prioritizes rigorous development of implementation science methods in addition to furthering the fields to which implementation science is applied. Her research combines these aspects. While her previous research has primarily applied implementation science to the field of infectious diseases and hospital epidemiology, she has a broad interest in applying implementation science to fields with a demonstrated gap between research findings and current practice. Her specific research priorities include:

  • Tailored implementation: building evidence on effectiveness of specific implementation strategies in specific contexts.
  • De-implementation of low-value practices: building evidence about effectiveness of de-implementation strategies.
  • User-centered, participatory design: validating user-centered design methods and establishing measures that constitute valid process indicators and outcomes of user-centered design.

NeoIPC

REVERSE

OCCSI

Implementation Science in Nursing

Rahel Naef’s research focuses on the

  • adult family health and illness management ability
  • effectiveness of family systems nursing interventions and integrated models of care delivery
  • implementation of evidence-based nursing practices

Her research focuses on the health and well-being of families in vulnerable situations, such as families engaged in caregiving and on families experiencing acute-critical illness, loss or bereavement.

Drawing on a wide range of methodological approaches, she investigates the impact of relational family systems, nursing interventions and models of care on individual and family illness management ability and health outcomes.

Rahel Naef has a particular interest in the study of knowledge translation strategies to promote the systematic uptake of evidence-based, interprofessional care delivery for people with cognitive impairment and their families entering acute care, as well as for those bereaved. The research work is at the intersection of nursing science and implementation science with a focus on family nursing.

FICUS Trial

BEST CARE

Digital and Mobile Health

Much of Prof. von Wyl’s work centers around Multiple Sclerosis (MS) and the Swiss MS Registry. This registry combines the approach of citizen sciences with digital health studies and has produced important findings to improve care for people with MS. Recent research activities include epidemiological analyses of the life course and disability progression of persons with MS, which combine patient survey data with clinical information, fitness wearables data and electronic patient diaries.

Other research interests include the development of methods for digital epidemiology (e.g., for the design and operation of digitally augmented observational studies), text analysis using crowdsourcing methods (e.g., to analyze patient diaries), and clustering methods for time-series data.

He is also involved in the effectiveness analysis of the SwissCovid Digital Proximity Tracing App.

Forschungsschwerpunkte und Projekte

Implementation Science in Health Care

Lauren Clacks Forschung legt den Schwerpunkt auf die Entwicklung von Methoden der Implementation Science. Ihre bisherige Forschung in der Implementation Science erfolgt vorwiegend in den Gebieten der Infektionskrankheiten, der Spitalhygiene und der Patientensicherheit. Sie hat ein breites Interesse an der Anwendung der Implementation Science auf Bereiche, in denen nachweislich eine Lücke zwischen den Forschungsergebnissen und der aktuellen Praxis besteht. Zu ihren spezifischen Forschungsprioritäten gehören:

  • Massgeschneiderte Umsetzung: Aufbau von Evidenz über die Wirksamkeit spezifischer Implementierungsstrategien in spezifischen Kontexten.
  • De-Implementierung von geringwertigen Praktiken: Aufbau von Evidenz über die Wirksamkeit von De-Implementierungsstrategien.
  • Nutzerzentrierte, partizipative Designs: Validierung nutzerzentrierter Designmethoden und Festlegung von Massnahmen, die valide Prozessindikatoren und Ergebnisse von nutzerzentrierten Designs darstellen.

NeoIPC

REVERSE

OCCSI

Implementation Science in Pflegewissenschaft

Die Forschung von Rahel Naef befasst sich mit der

  • familialen Gesundheit und Krankheitsmanagement
  • Wirksamkeit von systemischen Familieninterventionen und integrierten Versorungsmodellen
  • Implementierung evidenzbasierter Praktiken in der Pflege

Im Fokus stehen vor allem Familien in vulnerablen Situationen, z.B. im Kontext informeller Pflege- und Unterstützungsarbeit für ältere Angehörige, bei akut-kritischen Erkrankungen, am Lebensende oder nach einem Verlust.

Mithilfe verschiedener methodischer Ansätze untersucht Rahel Naef, wie sich familiensystemische Pflegeinterventionen und integrierte personen- bzw. familienzentrierte Versorgungsmodelle auf die Qualität der Versorgung, die Handlungsfähigkeit und die psychosoziale Gesundheit von Familien auswirken.

Besonderes Interesse gilt der wissenschaftlichen Untersuchung von Implementierungsstrategien – mit dem Ziel, im Akutspital eine evidenzbasierte pflegerische und interprofessionelle Versorgung für Personen mit kognitiven Einschränkungen, für sterbende Menschen und für hinterbliebene Angehörige zu erreichen. Die Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen somit an der Schnittstelle zwischen Pflegewissenschaft und Implementation Science mit einem Fokus auf Familienpflege.

FICUS Trial

BEST CARE

Digital and Mobile Health

Ein Grossteil der Arbeit von Viktor von Wyl konzentriert sich auf Multiple Sklerose (MS) und das Schweizer MS-Register. Dieses Register kombiniert den Ansatz der Citizen Sciences mit digitalen Studien zur Gesundheit. Es hat wichtige Erkenntnisse zur Verbesserung der Versorgung von Menschen mit MS geliefert. Zu den jüngsten Forschungsaktivitäten gehören epidemiologische Analysen des Lebensverlaufs und des Fortschreitens der Erkrankung bei Menschen mit MS. Dabei werden Daten aus Patientenumfragen mit klinischen Informationen, Daten aus Fitness-Trackern und digitalen Patienten-Tagebüchern kombiniert.

Andere Forschungsinteressen umfassen die Entwicklung von Methoden für die digitale Epidemiologie (z. B. für das Design und den Betrieb von digital erweiterten Beobachtungsstudien), Textanalysen unter Verwendung von Crowdsourcing-Methoden (z. B. zur Analyse von Patiententagebüchern) und Clustering-Methoden für Zeitreihendaten. Er ist auch an Effektivitätsanalysen der SwissCovid Digital Proximity Tracing App beteiligt.