What is Implementation Science?

The progress of human knowledge is accelerating. Clinical research is constantly delivering new findings in ever shorter periods of time. They form the foundation for evidence-based innovations in health care. Many of these innovations have the potential to improve health care and public health. Unfortunately, however, in many cases this potential pales into insignificance because it cannot be put into practice.

Obviously, the world of clinical research is separated from the world of health care by a deep divide.

In order to enable the exchange between the two worlds, shuttles must be provided. Implementation science offers the necessary methods.

Implementation science has set itself the task of optimizing interventions for a specific environment - as well as identifying the barriers and obstacles that hinder the path to implement these interventions. By showing how these obstacles can be removed and at the same time supporting facilitators, implementation science helps important innovations in the healthcare sector to break through.

Implementation Science also brings findings from care delivery back into medical research.

The word "implementation" comes from the Latin "implere", which can be translated as "to fulfill" or "to put into effect". Implementation science is interested in the behavior of health care professionals and organizations. By involving these stakeholders, implementation science gains a robust empirical understanding of the factors that shape professional and organizational behavior in health care. Thanks to the underlying theories, generalized statements can be obtained. Based on this in-depth understanding, implementation science helps to ensure that patients are increasingly offered those treatments and procedures that have proven to be the most effective.

Was ist Implementation Science?

Der Wissensfortschritt der Menschheit beschleunigt sich. Auch die klinische Forschung liefert in immer kürzeren Zeitabschnitten laufend neue Erkenntnisse. Sie bilden das Fundament für evidenzbasierte Innovationen im Gesundheitswesen. Viele dieser Innovationen haben das Potenzial, die Gesundheitsversorgung und die öffentliche Gesundheit zu verbessern. Doch leider versandet dieses Potenzial in vielen Fällen, weil die Umsetzung in die Praxis nicht gelingt

Offensichtlich ist die Welt der klinischen Forschung durch eine tiefe Kluft von der Welt der Gesundheitsversorgung getrennt. Um den Austausch zwischen den beiden Welten zu ermöglichen, gilt es Shuttles bereit zu stellen. Implementation Science bietet diese dafür notwendigen Methoden an.

Implementation Science hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Interventionen für ein bestimmtes Umfeld zu optimieren – sowie die Barrieren und Hindernisse zu identifizieren, die den Weg zur Umsetzung dieser Interventionen behindern. Indem die Implementation Science aufzeigt, wie sich diese Hindernisse aus dem Weg räumen lassen und gleichzeitig förderliche Faktoren unterstützt, verhilft sie wichtigen Neuerungen im Gesundheitswesen zum Durchbruch.

Implementation Science bringt zudem Erkenntnisse aus der Versorgung zurück in die medizinische Forschung.

Das Wort «Implementierung» stammt vom lateinischen «implere» ab, es lässt sich etwa mit «erfüllen» oder «in Kraft setzen» übersetzen. Die Implementation Science interessiert sich für das Verhalten von Fachkräften und Organisationen des Gesundheitswesens. Indem sie diese Interessengruppen miteinbezieht, gewinnt die Implementation Science ein robustes empirisches Verständnis der Faktoren, die das professionelle und organisatorische Verhalten im Gesundheitswesen prägen. Dank den zugrundeliegenden Theorien lassen sich generalisierbare Aussagen gewinnen. Auf der Basis dieses vertieften Verständnisses trägt die Implementation Science dazu bei, dass Patientinnen und Patienten vermehrt diejenigen Behandlungen und Verfahren angeboten werden, die sich auch wirklich als die wirksamsten erwiesen haben.