Tobias Kowatsch

Tobias Kowatsch, Prof. Dr.

tobias.kowatsch(at)uzh.ch

Biography

Tobias Kowatsch holds a PhD in Management (University of St.Gallen, 2016), a Master’s in Business Informatics (Saarland University, 2012), a Master’s in Media and Computer Science (Hochschule Furtwangen, 2007), and a Diploma (FH) in Computer Science (Hochschule Furtwangen, 2005). After his successful habilitation in 2021, he was also awarded the degree of a private lecturer with the “venia legendi” in Information Systems with a special focus on Digital Health (University of St.Gallen, 2022).

Since 2013, Dr Kowatsch is the Scientific Director of the Centre for Digital Health Interventions, a joint initiative of the Department of Management, Technology and Economics at ETH Zurich and the Institute of Technology Management at the University of St.Gallen. In this role and in close collaboration with his interdisciplinary team and research partners, Tobias designs digital health interventions (“digital pills”) for the prevention and management of non-communicable diseases at the intersection of information systems research, computer science and behavioural medicine.

In 2014, Dr Kowatsch helped initiate MobileCoach, an open-source software platform for digital biomarker and health intervention research. He still participates in the ongoing development of MobileCoach and applies the platform in various research projects and teaching.

Since 2015, Tobias is also the Scientific Director of the CSS Health Lab, a joint initiative of the Chair of Information Management at ETH Zurich and the Chair of Operations Management at the University of St.Gallen. The CSS Health Lab aims at improving the prevention and management of non-communicable diseases with ubiquitous technology.

In 2017, Dr Kowatsch co-founded the ETH Zurich and University of St.Gallen spin-off Pathmate Technologies which creates and delivers digital health interventions for the management of non-communicable diseases. For example, manoa is a digital health intervention for individuals with hypertension. Since 2017, Tobias is also a Scientific Advisory Board member of Pathmate Technologies.

In August 2018 Tobias was appointed Assistant Professor for Digital Health at the University of St.Gallen.

Since March 2020, Dr Kowatsch is the Lead Principal Investigator (ETH Zurich) of the Mobile Health Intervention Module that is part of the Future Health Technologies Programme (FHT). FHT develops a mobile digital health technology concept to transform healthcare toward a patient-centric model. It is a programme of the Singapore-ETH Centre, established by ETH Zurich and Singapore's National Research Foundation (NRF), as part of NRF’s Campus for Research Excellence And Technological Enterprise (CREATE).

From March to July 2021, Dr Kowatsch was appointed Adjunct Assistant Professor at the Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health, National University of Singapore.

In August 2022, Dr Kowatsch was appointed Associate Professor for Digital Health Interventions at the Institute for Implementation Science in Health Care, Medical Faculty, University of Zurich. Sincel then, he also joined the board of directors of the School of Medicine at the University of St.Gallen.

Publications

Tobias Kowatsch

Tobias Kowatsch, Prof. Dr.

tobias.kowatsch(at)uzh.ch

Biografie

Tobias Kowatsch hat einen Doktortitel in Management (Universität St.Gallen, 2016), einen Master in Wirtschaftsinformatik (Universität des Saarlandes, 2012), einen Master in Medien und Informatik (Hochschule Furtwangen, 2007) und ein Diplom (FH) in Informatik (Hochschule Furtwangen, 2005). Nach seiner erfolgreichen Habilitation im Jahr 2021 wurde ihm zudem der Titel eines Privatdozenten mit der "venia legendi" in Wirtschaftsinformatik mit Schwerpunkt Digitales Gesundheitswesen verliehen (Universität St.Gallen, 2022).

Seit 2013 ist Dr. Kowatsch wissenschaftlicher Leiter des Centre for Digital Health Intervention, einer gemeinsamen Initiative des Departements für Management, Technologie und Ökonomie der ETH Zürich und des Instituts für Technologiemanagement der Universität St.Gallen. In dieser Rolle und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit seinem interdisziplinären Team und seinen Forschungspartnern entwickelt Tobias Kowatsch digitale Gesundheitsinterventionen ("digitale Pillen") für die Prävention und das Management von nicht-übertragbaren Krankheiten an der Schnittstelle von Informationssystemforschung, Computerwissenschaften und Verhaltensmedizin.

Im Jahr 2014 war Dr. Kowatsch Mitinitiator von MobileCoach, einer Open-Source-Softwareplattform für digitale Biomarker- und Gesundheitsinterventionsforschung. Er ist weiterhin an der Weiterentwicklung von MobileCoach beteiligt und setzt die Plattform in verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten und in der Lehre ein.

Seit 2015 ist Tobias auch wissenschaftlicher Leiter des CSS Health Lab, einer gemeinsamen Initiative des Lehrstuhls für Informationsmanagement der ETH Zürich und des Lehrstuhls für Operations Management der Universität St.Gallen. Das CSS Health Lab zielt darauf ab, die Prävention und das Management nicht-übertragbarer Krankheiten mit Alltagstechnologie zu verbessern.

Im Jahr 2017 hat Dr. Kowatsch das Spin-off der ETH Zürich und der Universität St.Gallen Pathmate Technologies mitgegründet. Pathmate Technologies entwickelt digitale Gesundheitsinterventionen, beispielsweise manoa. Manoa ist eine digitale Gesundheitsintervention für Personen mit Bluthochdruck. Seit 2017 ist Tobias auch Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Beirats von Pathmate Technologies.

Im August 2018 wurde Tobias zum Assistenzprofessor für Digitales Gesundheitswesen an der Universität St.Gallen ernannt.

Seit März 2020 ist Dr. Kowatsch Lead Principal Investigator (ETH Zürich) des Mobile Health Intervention Module, das Teil des Future Health Technologies Programme (FHT) ist. FHT entwickelt ein Konzept für mobile digitale Gesundheitstechnologien, um die Gesundheitsversorgung in Richtung eines patientenzentrierten Modells zu verändern. Es ist ein Programm des Singapore-ETH Centre, das von der ETH Zürich und dem Singapore National Research Foundation (NRF) gegründet wurde und Teil des Campus for Research Excellence And Technological Enterprise (CREATE) des NRF ist.

Von März bis Juli 2021 wurde Dr. Kowatsch zum Adjunct Assistant Professor an der Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health, National University of Singapore, ernannt.

Am 1. August 2022 wurde Dr. Kowatsch zum ausserordentlichen Professor für digitale Gesundheitsinterventionen am Institut für Implementation Science in Health Care der medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich ernannt. Zusätzlich wurde er Mitglied der Direktion der School of Medicine an der Universität St.Gallen.

Publikationen